Blind and Low Vision Tennis follows the same rules as mainstream tennis with the exception of some modifications depending on the classification.

Some modifications include:

  • Net height
  • Racquet size
  • Ball (audible balls)
  • Number of bounces (depending on category)

For further details on equipment modification and game rules- visit the IBTA website.


There are four classifications/categories of Blind and Low Vision Tennis according to the International Blind Tennis Association (IBTA):

  • B1Visual acuity poorer than LogMAR 2.60
  • B2Visual acuity ranging from LogMAR 1.50 to 2.60 (inclusive)
  • B3Visual acuity ranging from LogMAR 1.0 to 1.40 (inclusive) OR visual fields less than 10 degrees diameter and visual acuity better than 0.5 (B4)
  • B4Visual acuity ranging from LogMAR 0.5 to 0.9 (inclusive) OR visual fields less than 40 degrees diameter and visual acuity better than 0.5.

(Source: International Blind Tennis Association)


The form is to be completed in English and by a registered ophthalmologist or optometrist.

Attach all medical documentation required on pages 2-3 of the form.

The form and the attached medical documentation may not be older than 12 months at the time of the Player Evaluation.

Once completed please send to


To participate in Blind and Low Vision Tennis, simply register for a free trial for juniors here or for adults here.

Do I need to be classified to participate? Classification enables the coach to tailor lessons to your classification needs. Different classifications have a different number of bounces, so once you are classified we can coach you accordingly. You can naturally commence lessons whilst you are gaining/applying for your classification – there is no need to wait.

Video link from Tennis Victoria: Junior Blind Tennis program | Tennis Victoria Inclusion